With the Information, Resources and Opportunities Required to
Fight Evil. Avert Suffering. At Scale.

Sunday, March 26, 2023

Heroism & Guts – What it takes to Earn the Navy Cross | Coffee or Die

Must Read

The Navy Cross is the second-highest military honor awarded by the US Navy for acts of valor in combat or rescue operations.  

The medal is equivalent in prestige to the Distinguished Service Cross and the Air Force Cross. Eligibility criteria include engagement in action against an enemy of the United States, military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force, or serving with friendly foreign forces engaged in armed conflict against an opposing armed force. The Navy Cross was created in 1919 and has since been awarded to service members in the US Navy, Marine Corps, and foreign allies. Two individuals have earned five awards, making them the most decorated recipients of the medal, including Marine Lt. Gen. Chesty Puller and Navy Rear Adm. Roy Davenport. The article tells the story of US Navy SEAL Chief Petty Officer Stephen Bass, who became the first SEAL awarded the Navy Cross since the 1989 American invasion of Panama. Bass was awarded the medal for his heroism during a mission in Afghanistan, where he helped rescue trapped CIA officers and found the location of a missing operative who had been killed during the uprising. 

Source: https://coffeeordie.com/navy-cross/ 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Along the Volta, African Commandos Train to Battle Terrorists by Land and Sea | NY Times

The U.S.-led Flintlock exercise in West Africa focused on building special forces in partner nations to combat rising terrorist...

More Articles Like This