With the Information, Resources and Opportunities Required to
Fight Evil. Avert Suffering. At Scale.

Monday, December 5, 2022

Decades after hellish ‘Black Hawk Down’ battle, 60 special operators will have their awards upgraded | Task and Purpose

Must Read

Sixty Army special operators who fought in the Battle of Mogadishu 28 years ago have had their prior honors of Silver Stars, and Distinguished Flying Crosses upgraded to Silver Stars and Distinguished Flying Crosses. Fifty-eight operators will get the Silver Star, the military’s third-highest decoration for war heroism, and two operators will earn the Distinguished Flying Cross, which is bestowed for bravery or remarkable performance in an aerial flight. The honors are for their bravery during Operation Gothic Serpent, often known as the Battle of Mogadishu or “Black Hawk Down,” a term popularized after the release of the 2002 war film of the same name. Former Army Secretary Ryan McCarthy instructed the Senior Army Decorations Board to re-evaluate the honors in October 2020, which resulted in the upgrades.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Special Operations Forces soldier describes battle for village in south of Ukraine | Ukrainska Pravda

Special Operations Forces (SOF) have revealed how they freed a village in the south of Ukraine.  In an interview with...

More Articles Like This