Israel Institutes Sweeping Travel Warning

Israel Institutes Sweeping Travel Warning

TEL AVIV — The Counter-Terrorism Bureau (CTB) of the Israeli National Security Council published its semi-annual travel advisory Monday urging citizens to stay away from 41 countries, nearly a quarter of UN member states.

In advance of the upcoming Passover and summer holiday season, CTB notes that warnings are based on “solid and reliable information, which reflects a real threat, based on the intelligence picture for a specific period.”

Rankings range from Code Burgundy — countries where citizens are either forbidden or strongly urged not to visit due to “very high concrete threat” — to Code Yellow, where “ongoing potential threats” warrant essential travel only.

“Recent terrorist attacks by Islamic extremists in Belgium, Canada, Australia, France and Denmark raise concerns over additional attacks against Western targets, including Israeli and Jewish targets, by veterans of the fighting in Syria and Iraq who are affiliated with Global Jihad (including Islamic State) and by local elements inspired by the terrorist organizations,” CTB announced on Monday.

By law, Israelis are forbidden to travel to six (Code Burgundy) countries defined as enemy states: Iran, Lebanon, Iraq (including Kurdistan), Saudi Arabia, Syria and Yemen.

Additionally, CTB urged citizens to avoid or leave immediately 10 additional states or conflict-ridden regions:Afghanistan, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Southern Thailand, the island of Mindanao in the southern Philippines, Chechnya, Kashmir, Sinai, and northern Nigeria.

Read More:Israel Institutes Sweeping Travel Warning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *