Essay winners consider future space, cyber challenges

Essay winners consider future space, cyber challenges

By [email protected] (Capt. Cait Suttie)

Four Air Force Space Command Airmen were awarded prizes for winning entries in the 2014 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever Memorial Essay Contest.

The AFSPC essay contest is conducted annually to stimulate thought, discussion and debate on matters relating to how the Air Force and AFSPC provide space and cyberspace capabilities for the joint force and the nation.  The contest, open to all Airmen and Air Force civilian employees is sponsored by the Lance P. Sijan Chapter of the Air Force Association and administered by the AFSPC History office.

This year’s theme, “The Future”, focused on how AFSPC can change, prepare and plan for the contested environments the command faces in both the Space and Cyber domains. Entrants submitted original, unpublished works of 3,500 words or less. The top three essays are online now on the Air and Space Power Journal website and will be published in the next printed edition.

“Results of the Schriever Memorial Essay Contest are far-reaching,” said Skip Bradley III, AFSPC History Director. “Not only did the winners and honorable mention writers express strategic ideas to the entire Air force, but the history office is sending all submissions to appropriate readership within the command and the Air Force for further review.  In this way, all the entrants were winners and the command has truly benefitted from this contest.”

Maj. Gen. David Buck, AFSPC vice commander, and Mr. Roy Griggs, Lance P. Sijan Chapter AFA representative, spoke at the presentation, here, Oct. 31 and presented the first and third place awards. General Buck made the second place presentation at Vandenberg AFB, California, Oct. 20.  The AFA provided monetary awards to authors of the winning submissions, $1,000, $750, and $500, respectively.

1st Place Lt. Col. Joseph Iungerman
2nd Place Lt. Col. Kris Barcomb
3rd Place Capt. Bryan Bell
& 2nd Lt. Even Rogers

“We received 20 top-quality papers from around the Air Force. All of these innovative thoughts definitely made it tough on our panel of judges,” said Griggs.

The 2014 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever Memorial Essay Contest winners are:

1st Place – Lt. Col. Joseph Iungerman; “What if They Say ‘No’? – Preserving Access to Critical Commercial Space Capabilities during Future Crises”.  Iungerman is the AFSPC Programming and Financial Management Directorate executive officer.

2nd Place – Lt. Col. Kris Barcomb; “Space Sustainment: A New Approach for America in Space”. Barcomb is the 1st Air and Space Test Squadron, Vandenberg AFB, California.

3rd Place – Co-authored by Capt. Bryan Bell and 2nd Lt. Even Rogers; “Mission Resilience and the Contested, Degraded and Operationally-limited Space: The Gaps in Tactical Space Operations”. Bell is the 4th Space Operations Squadron assistant operations officer and weapons officer; Rogers is the 4th SOS Weapons and Tactics Training chief. Both are assigned to Schriever AFB, Colorado.


…read more

Source:: Air Force Space Command